about the Center for Public Deliberation

Since 2006, the CPD has dedicated its efforts to enhancing local democracy.

Our Staff


Director | Martín Carcasson, Ph.D.

Martín Carcasson, Ph.D., is a Professor in the Communication Studies department of Colorado State University, and the founder and director of the CSU Center for Public Deliberation (CPD). His research focuses on helping local communities address “wicked problems” more productively through improved public communication, community problem solving, and collaborative decision-making. The CPD is a practical, applied extension of his work, and functions as an impartial resource dedicated to enhancing local democracy in Northern Colorado.

Picture of interim managing director.

Managing Director |
Sabrina Slagowski-Tipton, M.A.

Sabrina Slagowski-Tipton began her work with the Center for Public Deliberation in 2009 as a student facilitator. In 2016 she received her M.A. in Communication Studies with a specialization in Deliberative Practices from Colorado State University. Prior to joining the CPD team, she was an adjunct instructor in the Department of Communication Studies. Her research and work focuses on the role of expertise in deliberation, applying trauma-informed care approaches to facilitation, and increasing equity and inclusion in community engagement efforts.

Katie website

Associate Director | Katherine R. Knobloch, Ph.D.

Katherine R. Knobloch, Ph.D., is an Assistant Professor in the Communication Studies department. Her research and teaching focus on political communication and civic engagement, specifically exploring how deliberative public processes can create a more informed and engaged citizenry. For this work, she has received a grant from the National Science Foundation to study the Citizens’ Initiative Review and examine how process design affects the quality and outcome of deliberative engagement. Katie teaches courses in deliberation, political communication, and persuasion and in her capacity at the CPD trains undergraduates to design and facilitate community meetings.

elizabeth parks

Dialogue & Diversity Specialist | Elizabeth Parks, Ph.D.

Dr. Elizabeth Parks is an Assistant Professor of Communication Studies. Her research and teaching blends social scientific and humanistic methods to better understand how we can improve ethical listening with people who are different than ourselves, whether that be based on diverse ethnicity, race, language, culture, gender, ability, or other identity performance. After intensive cross-cultural negotiation in the United States as an American Sign Language interpreter (since 2001), teaching in US colleges and universities on both coasts and the Midwest (since 2004), and international sociolinguistic research with a community development NGO in Latin America and the Caribbean (from 2006-2012), her scholarship is grounded in the belief that our individual, relational, and organizational lives are enriched by bravely creating hospitable spaces of dialogue across difference. Her first book is, "The Ethics of Listening: Creating Space for Sustainable Dialogue."